Zhengzhou, Henan Province, China

Visit Our Office

[email protected]

Email Address


Phone Line

What are the types of induction motors?

Induction motors are mainly divided into two categories: single-phase induction motors and three-phase induction motors, and these two types can be further divided.

Induction motors are a widely used type of AC motor. In an induction motor, the current required to produce torque in the rotor is obtained by electromagnetic induction in the stator. Induction motors are mainly classified into two types: single-phase induction motors and three-phase induction motors, which can be further divided into other types.

Types of induction motors

Single-phase induction motors can be divided into Split Phase Induction Motor, Capacitor Start Induction Motor, Capacitor Start Capacitor Run Induction Motor and Shaded Pole Motor according to their structure and starting method. Split phase induction motors are named after the fact that the starting current and the main current are separated by a certain angle. Capacitor start and capacitor run induction motors are similar in that both of them have a high starting torque. The shaded pole induction motor has convex pole type and hidden pole type depending on the stator shape structure, but the convex pole type is more common. There are two main types of three-phase Induction motors : squirrel-cage type and slip-ring type. The squirrel cage induction motor is named after the squirrel cage like rotor shape, and is also a common three-phase induction motor. As for the slip-ring type, the end of its rotor winding of the slip-ring induction motor is connected to the slip-ring.


There are single-phase and three-phase induction motors. The main difference between these two types of motors is the power supply.

Leave a Comment